A FEAM Advisory Ethics Committee has been set up in 2023 to review external proposals for FEAM and FEAM Forum activities. It will act as a sound mechanism to assess potentially controversial topics and to avoid jeopardizing FEAM’s independence from vested interests as well as other partners in the FEAM Forum.

Composed of seven members, the committee is chaired by Professor George Griffin, FEAM Past-President, with the support of Adv. Malke Borow (Israeli National Academy of Science in Medicine).

List of the members of the Committee:

Prof. George Griffin (Chair)
FEAM Past President
Member of the UK Academy of Medical Sciences
Emeritus Professor of Infectious Diseases and Medicine at St George’s, University of London 

Dr. Agnès Brouard
President of the Ethics Committee and Member of the Committee of Deontology, French Academy of Pharmacy
Former Chief Pharmacist & Head of a Multiservice Department, Pharmaceutical Services, Central Pharmacy, Paris AP-HP (Assistance Publique – Hôpitaux de Paris); Former Scientific Secretary of Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee & Head of the Drug purchasing Unit at AP-HP; Former Managing Director of Exafield, Inc (San Francisco-USA)  

Prof. Christian Hervé
Member of the French Academy of Veterinary Sciences
Former Head of Department of Ethics and Integrity Scientific, Foch Hospital, Suresnes, France; Professor Emeritus of University of Paris; Former Professor of Medical Ethics and Legal Medicine Laboratory (LEM), Paris Descartes University and Public Health and consultations department, Max Fourestier Hospital, Nanterre 

Prof. Richard Lilford
Member of the UK Academy of Medical Sciences
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Director of National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Applied Research Centre West Midlands (ARC WM), College of Medical and Dental Sciences, University of Birmingham 

Prof. Jose Miguel Garcia Sagredo 
General Secretary of Spanish Royal Academy of Medicine
Former Head of Medical Genetics Department at University Hospital Ramón y Cajal, Madrid; Honorary Professor of Alcala University 

Prof. Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth
Member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
Professor and Chair Department of Ophthalmology and Optometry, Medical University Vienna; Strategical Director, Vienna Reading Center; Medical Director, Laboratory of Ophthalmic Image Analysis; Adjunct Professor, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University Chicago 

Prof. Duarte Nuno Vieira 
President of the Portuguese Academy of Medicine
Professor of Forensic Medicine, Forensic Sciences, Ethics and Medical Law at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Coimbra and at the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University of Beira Interior; Visiting professor at the Universities of Belgrade (Servia), Xi´an Jiaotong (China) and Kasturba (India) 

Adv. Malke Borow (Committee Secretary)
Executive Secretary of the Israeli National Academy of Science in Medicine 

In case you would like to get in touch with this Committee, please send an email to info@feam.eu.

Subscribe to our newsletter